Uncategorized

Bloodlust

You thought your life very miserable, because you’ve been through things.

You lived a very lonely life. Your first wife died from influenza on your honeymoon; your second wife ran away on your wedding day; and your third murdered you on your wedding night.

It was that night that you realized your third wife wasn’t your third, your second wasn’t your second, and your first was not your first, because your first wife was I.

All those years ago, we got into a traffic accident, in which I died and you woke from a coma with temporary and selective memory loss. I didn’t want you to be happy without me. Before I closed my eyes, I laid the following curse upon you–

“You will live a very lonely life. Your second wife will die from influenza on your honeymoon; your third wife will run away on your wedding day; and your fourth wife will murder you on your wedding night.”

And so I am wearing a white dress and your dead bride’s face. On this night, I tear her face off of mine as you do the same to my dress. I’m glad you finally remember me after all these years, but you are getting old and I will be forever young. Without me explaining, you already know what became of your real bride. To reminisce, you look into my eyes.

What do you see? I ask.

 

Leave a Reply

