Gallons of Tears

|Gallons of Tears| Chapter 3

As soon as I fell asleep, Engeline came floating towards me. She still looked the same–Angels never changed. Her long, velvety mane of black was the same, her dark brown eyes didn’t change, nor the gray feathery wings, or the white robe.

I glanced around he dark blue void. “It’s dark blue here tonight,” I observed. The color of the void was the only thing that changed.

“That is the color you need,” Engeline said, smiling. “How are you?”

“Terrible.” I told her all about Safrina and Lex.

“She sees you as her best friend,” she observed.

“As long as she’s happy, I’ll be okay.”

“You don’t need to suffer,” she said.

“It’s okay.”

Engeline sighed. “Kaleb…”

“Yes?”

“Don’t be so cold to me. I live here,”–she pointed at my heart–“so there’s no reason to cover yourself up.”

“It’s fine. It’ll be okay.” As I tried to convince her, I realized that I couldn’t even persuade myself, let alone an Angel. I thought she would point it out again, but instead, she just came closer to me.

“If you say so.” Engeline embraced me. In the warm wrap of her arms, I let my tears flow. She understood every feeling, and she cried with me.

← Chapter 2
Chapter 4 →
Back to Chapter 1
Leave a Reply

