The Little Red Cape

|The Little Red Cape| Chapter Four: Kellia

I wasn’t born a huntress. As a matter of fact, I didn’t feel much like one. I used to be just another girl in the woods–like that little idiot who forgot her cape, Ronei.

Ronei was the first human I’d encountered for three years. When I left that day, I realized she thought me strange. It wasn’t my fault. I was in splendid isolation from the rest of the world.

I was born in a decent little house, just like everybody else. My mother named me Kellia. My father, like all fathers in the area, was a hunter. Almost all males would become hunters.

The boy living next to us was Comen. He was a quiet one, and spent most of his days sitting on his own doorsteps, playing with sticks and stones. He ignored most of everyone. I used to watch him from the living room window. Every few minutes, he would return my gaze for a few seconds.

I just couldn’t figure out why he sat there on his own every day.

“Comen, lunch!” his mother’s voice came from the closed doors. Without saying anything, he dropped his sticks and stones, and went inside, after looking at me one last time.

Since there was nothing left for me to see, I climbed down from the chair I had been standing on.

“He went back?” my mother asked, knitting a scarf on the couch.

“Yes.”

“Why do you watch him?” she asked, smiling.

“I want to know why he doesn’t act like normal people, mother.”

“Well,” mother put down the scarf and looked at me. “Why don’t you ask him?”

← Chapter Three: Ronei
Chapter Five: Kellia →
Back to the first chapter
Leave a Reply

