The Little Red Cape

|The Little Red Cape| Chapter Six: Ronei

As I continued walking, I paused to look up at a pink tree. Its trunk was dark brown, but its branches were red, and its leaves pink. Miss Thomas rarely got out of her house. Thinking this, I stood on the tips of my toes and tried to snap a twig off.

Except I wasn’t tall enough.

A hand reached out from my right and snapped a red twig off easily. I twisted my head to see a guy–taller than me by about a couple of heads–holding out the twig to me.

“Tall, dark, swift.” These words came like a hiss, from the magically beautiful tree. “Legendary,” the tree whispered to me.

I ignored the tree and took the twig. The guy was smiling, but it didn’t reach his eyes. “Thanks,” I said.

He nodded at the tree, leaning towards it. “What do you think of the little red cape, Ash?”

Uh…he was talking to the tree.

“Oh, right,” he said to the tree again. Then, to me, “I’m Drew.”

“Ronei,” I replied. What kind of person would talk to a tree? It would be understandable if there was no one to talk to, but hello? I was standing right there the whole time.

“Ronei…so that’s your name.” Drew eyed the tree again. “I’ll be right back, Ash,” he said, kissing one of the pink leaves.

Perhaps I forgot to mention that this world was full of the mentally impaired, besides werewolves?

“So…Ronei, is that your only name?” Drew asked as he walked alongside me.

At least he was sane enough to ask that. “No, I’m Ronei Akai.”

“Red.”

“Yes.”

“I’m Andrew Alekanekelo Viktor,” he said.

“You’re what?”

“Legend…” the pink leaves rustled to hiss at me. He didn’t seem to hear.

Strange was normal here, but this was too strange.

“Drew,” he answered, running a hand through his hair.

When we were farther away from the tree “Ash”, Drew started talking again. “Where are you headed? People don’t usually walk this slow along this path.”

I threw a glare at him. “I’m going to someone’s house at the end of this path. And I’m not walking slow on purpose.”

He chuckled. “You’d look better with your hair down.”

“What?”

Drew knelt on one knee and looked me in the eye. “I want you,” he said, determination in his voice.

I recognized the way my eyes reflected in his.

“But I’ll be going now. Bye,” he spoke again, standing up. This time, his tone was easy and mindless. Shoving his hands in his pockets, he strode away.

← Chapter Five: Kellia
Chapter Seven: Kellia →
Back to the first chapter
Leave a Reply

