The Little Red Cape

|The Little Red Cape| Chapter Twelve: Ronei

I took a few deep breaths before taking off my hood. The gun vanished. My ears picked up a distant humming. I walked towards it–taking care not to touch Drew’s body–and found Miss Thomas painting.

“Miss Thomas?” I tried.

“Oh, hi there, Ronei. Could you please get keys from Mr. Viktor’s jeans pocket? He chained my feet.” She was smiling as if it was the most natural thing in the world.

“He chained you up and you’re still painting?”

“You can see that with your own eyes. Now could you get the keys?” she asked again, not lifting her gaze from her painting. I glanced down at her feet. They were indeed chained to the door of the room.

“Miss Thomas,” I said, “I killed Drew.”

“Yeah, I know,” she replied. “Isn’t that a hobby of yours?”

“Killing Drew, a hobby?”

“You heard me right.”

“There’s just one Drew.”

“What’s the difference? You’ll kill him again if he reincarnates into something else. What’s the big deal?”

Sighing, I went back to the living room. It took me a while to get back to Miss Thomas–you can well imagine why.

Outside, though far away, I could hear leaves rustling, as if in grief.

~fin~

← Chapter Eleven: Ronei
Back to the first chapter
Leave a Reply

