Thereafter

|Thereafter| Once Again

Ekko and Derik got back together, and somehow, everyone knew. Everyone knew, but not many supported them.

Ekko’s friends told her she wasn’t that type of girl, they told her he would either change her into something she wouldn’t like or she would break up with him again, they told her there was no future. She said she knew. She said she knew that, but she loved him.

Derik’s friends reminded him that this was the girl who had left him before in the name of freedom, they reminded him that she could do it again. He told them he knew that, but he was ready to give it to her if she asked again, and this time, he would try to love her without strangling her.

After having been separated once, both tried much harder to get along and blend. They fought more, but it didn’t matter.

“And you always—” Derik would begin.

That was when Ekko would attack him with a big hug. “I love you.”

He would stop then. “I hope you won’t’ get tired of my temper.”

“I will,” she said. “And I will hate you more, but I won’t love you less.”

She sounded so sure, that he believed her judgment. “I’ll make it up to you.” He kissed her.

They were like fire and ice, and when they were together, everything exploded. Sometimes, those were fireworks, and sometimes, they were destructive explosions. In hopes of seeing the fireworks, they didn’t mind the explosions.

“Who’s she?” Ekko was leaning against his shoulder one night, casually glancing at the screen of his phone.

“I think she likes me. I’ll tell her off.”

“You should’ve done that long ago. She’s been around far too long.”

“She was there for me when you left. I can’t just be that mean to her.”

She glared, and turned away again. “Okay.”

He put his phone away, and hugged her from behind. “Don’t be jealous. You’re the only one I’ll love. I haven’t forgotten what you’ve done for me.”

“What have I done?”

“You’ve seen the worst of me and still love me. You taught me what love should be, and you helped me learn about myself. You taught me how to accept myself. Ekko, despite everything that happens between us, and no matter what happens in the future, I’ll still love you all the same.”

She leaned back, and fit her head next to his neck, on his shoulder.

“You’re the best thing that ever happened to me.”

She recalled that one time—

← More Reunion
Aggression →
Back to the first chapter
Leave a Reply

