Jewelic Nightmare

|Jewelic Nightmare| The Queen

Her eyelids fluttered open again as he finally pulled away from her. She gasped. “Sire,” she exclaimed.
“My queen is back,” he noted.
His golden hair was replaced by a long silver braid. It was the one feature that was easiest to recognize. She placed her hand on his cheek. “Sorry to have kept you waiting.”
“It’s alright,” he said. “The best things in life are worth waiting for. Besides,” There he gave his infamous smirk. “It was the best feeling in the world, when you told me you loved me even without your memories. There is one thing I’d like to know though.”
“What thing?” She eyed him skeptically. Ah, for sure, this was the Queen alright. That fierce glare could never be mistaken.
“It was when I saw you in your illusion that I recognized you,” he said. “It was you who guided me across the bridge, wasn’t it?” He waited then, for her to deny remembering it, or to confirm that it was her. He was certain it was her, he only asked to see if she remembered.
“Yeah, that was me.” Charisse brushed her hair back. “I did it right, so you didn’t forget everything.”
“Oh, my poor heart. That accusatory tone!”
“Did I say it wrong?”
“Well, no.”
“Exactly. But–” She paused.
“Hmm?”
She patted his cheek. “You seem worn out. We were on vacation when this happened, weren’t we? That’s why we’re here instead of the palace.”
“We were. Do you remember how it happened?”
“No, that I can’t recall.”
“We parted for one second, literally.” Ajax snaked his arms around her waist from the back, speaking in her ear. “I think you went down the staircase to fetch something.”
“I let my guard down because we were on vacation,” she muttered.
“I’ll never let you out of my sight again, my Queen.”
“Or you could get me a knight.”
“Nooo~”
She chuckled. “Let’s go back to our place, sire. It’s been long.”
“Not before you say it again.”

“I love you.”

~fin~

← The Truth
Back to the first chapter
Leave a Reply

