Stören

|Stören| Konversation

“Hi,” the man greeted, inviting her to take a seat. He didn’t have any liquor with him. It must have been obvious that she had noted that, for almost immediately afterwards, he added, “Oh, I’m only staying here a minute. My friend will cover for me later. Looks like she’s late.”

“Your…friend?” Mitsu doubted, then shook her head and started over. “Good evening,” she said to him. “And nice to meet you. I’m Mitsu.”

“Hazen. Nice to meet you, too.” The man gave her a wry smile. “I’ve been waiting for this day,” he added.

Mitsu arched an eyebrow. “Oh?” she mused. “I’m sorry, sir, but that’s an unbelievably clichéd line.”

“I know, I know.” Hazen chuckled along, leaning back in his chair. “So, how have you been?”

“I’ve been well, thanks, and yourself?”

“Well as in, well, or is that just a perfunctory attempt to wave me off?” the dark-skinned male asked in a slightly joking tone.

Mitsu opened her mouth to answer, then closed it, only to open it again a moment later. “Perfunctory.”

“I thought so. Not bad though, I hope?”

“Not bad, just normal.”

Hazen gave a curt nod, then stood from his chair. “Well, my friend has arrived, I’ve got to go. I hope to see you again soon, Mitsu.”

She followed with her eyes as he walked away, towards the door. There at the door, Hazen greeted a woman with shoulder-length, brown wavy hair and matching brown eyes. The two walked out the door, but not before the brunette stole a brief curious glance at Mitsu.

← Kinder
Lehrer →
Back to the first chapter
Leave a Reply

